Skip to main content

❮   Back to News

February 27, 2019

CIOC Members honored as Gears of Government Award Recipients

By CIO Council Operations


We’re excited to share that several teams and individuals from across the government have been named Gears of Government Award winners on behalf of the CIO Council! Their stories can be found on the Hall of Winners page on The awards include many examples of how IT modernization is allowing agencies to better meet customer expectations, keep data and systems secure, build a modern workforce and ensure access to services.

Throughout the year, Federal employees nominated teams and individuals across the Federal workforce for a Gears of Government Award whose performance and dedication deliver key outcomes for the American people, including mission results, customer service, and accountable stewardship. Congratulations to the following recipients, who exemplify the hard work and innovation essential to achieving the President’s vision for a modern, effective government.

Help us recognize your colleagues - use #GearsofGovAwards when sharing their stories!

Team Award Recipients:

CIO Council Workforce Committee including Jason Gray (ED), Gary Washington (USDA), Mark Johnson (USAID), Antoinetta Grant (USDA), Elnora Wright (OPM) - Led a series of programs designed to fill critical IT and cybersecurity positions through a combination of innovative government-wide recruitment efforts and piloting reskilling initiatives.

SBA Office of the CIO including Guy Cavallo, Sanjay Gupta, Beau Houser, Russ Miller, G. Nagesh Rao - Modernized the Small Business Administration’s technology infrastructure yielding $11 million in savings. The updated systems and software are more efficient and have have led to increased productivity from SBA employees.

Federal Data Strategy Development Team - Improved government-wide data-driven policies through the development 10 year data strategy, principles, practices and priority projects in support of the PMA.

Individual Award Recipients:

Anita Robertson (DOD) - Through her leadership of the IT and Business System Reform effort, identified and deployed critical staff who modernized Federal IT systems and provided efficiencies that saved taxpayers $200 million in FY2018.

Thomas Santucci (DOJ) - Led the Department of Justice’s Data Center Transformation Initiative, which optimized the data center infrastructure and improved cloud adoption resulting in $130 million in cost savings and a projected annual cost avoidance of $30 million.

To learn more about these outstanding public servants and their fellow recipients, visit the Hall of Winners page and stay tuned as their stories are highlighted on the blog, Twitter, and LinkedIn pages.

❮   Back to News

An Official website of the Federal Government

Looking for U.S. government information and services?