Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

4.6 Chief Information Officers Council (CIOC)

Key Stakeholders

4.6 Chief Information Officers Council (CIOC)

CIOs from the 24 CFO Act agencies are invited and encouraged to participate in the CIO Council which was codified into law under the e-Government Act of 2002. (CIO Council) (Public Law 107–347. e-Government Act of 2002.) The CIO Council is the principal interagency forum for improving agency practices related to the design, acquisition, development, modernization, use, sharing, and performance of Federal information resources.

The U.S. federal CIO and the CIO Council establish standards against which the success of all agency programs can be measured, including:

  • Monitoring the year-to-year performance improvement of Federal Government programs
  • Attracting and retaining a high-performance IT workforce
  • Optimizing Federal Government information resources and investments
  • Aligning IT solutions with Federal enterprise business processes
  • Adopting and sharing best IT management practices
  • Managing risk and ensuring privacy and security

The e-Government Act of 2002 (Ibid.) outline the CIO Council’s responsibilities which include:

  1. Developing recommendations for the Director of OMB on government information resources management policies and requirements;
  2. Sharing experiences, ideas, best practices, and innovative approaches related to information resources management;
  3. Assisting the Federal CIO in the identification, development, and coordination of multi-agency projects and other innovative initiatives to improve Government performance through the use of information technology;
  4. Promoting the development and use of common performances for agency information resources management; and
  5. Working with the Office of Personnel Management to assess and address the hiring, training, classification, and professional development of the Federal IT workforce.

The CIO Council has 4 committees and many working groups. The committees include:

  • The Services, Strategies and Infrastructure Committee
  • Innovation Committee
  • IT Workforce Committee
  • CISO Council

An Official website of the Federal Government

Looking for U.S. government information and services?