Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

6.1 President's Management Agenda (PMA)

Policies & Initiatives

6.1 President’s Management Agenda (PMA)

The PMA lays out a long-term vision for modernizing the Federal Government in key areas that will improve the ability of agencies to deliver mission outcomes, provide excellent service, and effectively steward taxpayer dollars on behalf of the American people.

  • Mission: The American people count on the Federal Government every day, from national security to infrastructure to food and water safety. Public servants must be accountable for mission-driven results but must also have the necessary tools and resources to deliver.
  • Service: Federal customers range from small businesses seeking loans, to families receiving disaster support, to veterans owed proper benefits and medical care. They deserve a customer experience that compares to—or exceeds—that of leading private sector organizations, yet most Federal services lag behind the private sector.
  • Stewardship: Effective stewardship of taxpayer funds is a crucial responsibility of Government, from preventing fraud to maximizing impact. Taxpayer dollars must go to effective programs that produce results efficiently.

Cross Agency Priority (CAP) Goals
CAP Goals [are] established to drive implementation of the PMA and tackle critical government-wide challenges that cut across agencies. The CAP Goals provide the components of the Federal Government Performance Plan required by the GPRA Modernization Act of 2010. CAP Goals are a tool used by leadership to accelerate progress on a limited number of Presidential priority areas where implementation requires active collaboration among multiple agencies. Long-term in nature, CAP Goals drive cross-government collaboration to tackle government-wide management challenges affecting most agencies.

CAP Goals fall into four categories: key drivers of transformation, cross-cutting priority areas, functional priority areas and mission priority areas.

An Official website of the Federal Government

Looking for U.S. government information and services?